Podcast for The Wildlife Trust – Every Child Wild

The Wildlife Trust have now launched their Every Child Wild campaign which you can see on their website

http://www.wildlifetrusts.org/EveryChildWild

A couple of weeks ago I went up to Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve with The Wildlife Trust to take part in a podcast for Every Child Wild.

The podcast can be listened to from this link.

https://soundcloud.com/thewildlifetrusts/every-child-wild

I meet up with Billy Stockwell, Sorrel Lyall, Mya-Rose Craig and Nathan Bach to talk about how we got interested in nature, who supported us and what we thought the Wildlife Trust and other organisations could be doing to encourage children to enjoy nature.

Everyone at Podcast Podcast photo

I was really interested to hear what the others had to say on how they got in to loving nature. Personally my passion came from my parents and they have supported me the whole way.

We talked about how we express our interests, do we talk about it at school and is it ‘cool’ to like nature. It was intriguing to hear that at Primary school everybody encouraged children and we talked freely to our class mates, but once at Secondary school in Key stage 3 I felt the pressure to ‘fit in’ makes it harder to talk about having an interest in nature, but Billy and Sorrel who are a lot older felt more confident to tell everyone and to even help out in their schools.

At my school they have lunchtime clubs for many different hobbies such as football, scrabble, book club, rugby, coding club (ICT) and science but nothing to encourage children to engage with nature or the environment. Perhaps that would make it seem less uncool and like minded children could  have somewhere to meet.

I feel that if there were more role models of a similar age to me or slightly older like Findlay Wilde and Georgia Locock that appeared on TV, and not just on Children’s TV, it would make nature and wildlife seem more acceptable and reachable for other children. It is great that people like Chris Packham, Steve Backshall and David Attenborough bring wildlife into our homes and I admire them, however being still at the lower end of Secondary school my experiences are not the same as theirs and it can be difficult for kids to relate to them..

My generation has lots of distractions such as computer games and tablets as well some children who have parents that worry about them being outside, but the positive side to technology is that I have made some good friends and had lots of encouragement and support through blogging, Twitter and other social media.

One last thing, I feel that organisations could put on more courses or activities for secondary school age children. There are lots of days for toddlers, primary school kids and adults but not much for my age. I mentioned this on Twitter last week and Iain Green (Naturebygreen) jumped in and offered a 11+ Water Vole day next year which I’m really looking forward to.

Many organisations do have kids magazines and run courses for their members but that implies you already have an interest in nature to have already become a member. How do we engage children in the first place?

Charlie Moores was brilliant at the Podcast, making us all feel comfortable.

Thank you to Emma, Adam and Lucy from The Wildlife Trust for inviting me to take part. #Everychildwild.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Every child wild, nature, outdoors, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Podcast for The Wildlife Trust – Every Child Wild

  1. You did a great job Alex, a brilliant podcast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

