Why I go on Badger marches

Over the past couple of years I have been on  quite a few Badger marches including Oxford, Birmingham, Wincester, Ross 0n Wye, Witney and today Hereford.

The marches are a peaceful way to educated people about Badgers and the badger cull.

I have found everybody to be incredibly friendly, passionate and dedicated to protecting badgers. I have listened to some great speeches and met some interesting people.

The Badger marches are my way of supporting badgers as I am too young to vote and too young to help out on the wounded Badger patrols. It would be easy to think that somebody else will protest, march, educate, help or speak out, but if everyone thought like that nothing would ever get done about things that are wrong.

The Badger cull is the Governments answer to halting the spread of Bovine TB but this is against all scientific evidence and vaccination and other controls would be a better course of action.

Although the cull is over for this year there is every chance it will happen again next year.

Personally Badgers are my favourite animals and I have photographed, filmed and got to know my local badgers very well.

Through my blog, photography, Twitter and Facebook accounts I try to show people how beautiful badgers are as I feel the more people fall in love with Badgers, the more people will want to protect them and see Badgers in this country for years to come.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in nature, outdoors, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I go on Badger marches

  1. Tony Gillie says:

    “It would be easy to think that somebody else will protest, march, educate, help or speak out, but if everyone thought like that nothing would ever get done about things that are wrong.”
    Exactly Alex, which is why we all have to do whatever we can. Don’t ever leave it to other people!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Liz Pain says:

    Fantastic! Well done! We must all do what we can.

    Like

  3. Excellent work, it is you guys who are the future, your voices need to be heard as loud as us adults (louder in many cases as you are clearly more knowledgeable than some).

    Like

  4. Pingback: Badger weekend | Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White

Leave a Reply

