Bird Advent calendar – Day 7

Day 7 of my count down to Christmas is a beautiful bird, The Rook.

Every morning the Rooks leave their roost to come and gather on the pylon and wires next to our house where they make their distinctive caw, yelps and barks which makes up a Rook conversation.

After they have sat on the wires and chatted for a bit they leave and gather in a local field, they must be joining Rooks from another roost because there are hundreds of them, many more than roost opposite my house at night. In the evening they fly back to the roost making lots of noise and take part in ariel displays, where they all rise up in to the air or just one or two will twist and turn together.

This rookery is slightly different from some rookeries because the birds roost here in winter along side the nests they have used during the summer. In February 2014 I did a blog on our local rookery/roost where I counted 43 nests. It is in a small copse not in the large wood behind my house.

On the bus on the way to school I can’t help but notice that there are Rooks climbing inside hay bales, is this a common thing for Rooks to do?

I am presuming they are finding insects, they have destroyed a couple of the bales.

IMG_3849

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bird Advent calendar – Day 7

  1. leehodge1970 says:

    It’s very interesting to see what the rooks have done to the hay bales. We have sparrows that come and destroy our garage roof! The bricks are very old and crumbly. I wonder if they’re eating the brick dust, or sharpening their breaks or looking for insects. Very odd but also a bit of a nuisance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

