Bird Advent calendar – Day 8

I’ve got a Barn owl for day 8 of my Advent calendar.

While waiting for my sister’s after school club to finish we drove down to Farmoor reservoir for a quick visit.

I’ve never been there so close to sunset and it was amazing to see all the different types of gulls arriving and landing on the water, there must have been thousands all sitting in the middle of the water by the time we left.

The ducks already had their heads tucked under their wings, the Jackdaws were gathering and the Great Crested Grebes were doing a bit of last minute fishing. On the artificial island an Egret and a Heron were chasing each other around the reeds.

In the field that backs on to the reservoir I saw a Barn owl hunting. I first spotted it as a white patch in the trees, it then took off and starting quartering the field before heading off around the back of the wood.

IMG_0118IMG_3975IMG_0158

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bird Advent calendar – Day 8

  1. leehodge1970 says:

    Wonderful photos Alex!

    Like

Leave a Reply

