Bird Advent calendar – Day 16

I’ve had a very exciting day starting with my science class at school having to be evacuated.

On the school bus, on the way home, a Short eared owl flew across the road in front of the bus and landed on the hedge at the side of the road, it looked at the bus and then flew off across the field. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera on me and didn’t have time to get my phone out of my bag.

The bird for todays post is a bit of a cheat because my mum saw it and I didn’t.

While walking the dogs at lunchtime my mum saw a bird land on a Hawthorn bush so she took a photo of it. It was a Great Grey Shrike. Small numbers of them appear in the UK every year.

Great Grey Shrikes eat small mammals, birds and insects, they can store them on thorns.

I went out after school to see if I could see the Shrike and take some photos for myself but it wasn’t there anymore.

Great grey shrike 1Great Grey shrike and chaffinchGreat grey shrike 2Great grey shrike

 

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

