Bird Advent calendar – Day 17

Day 17 of my count down to Christmas is a colourful visitor to our garden, The Great Tit.

Great Tits are residents to the UK and can be seen all year round. They are the biggest bird in the tit family and eat insects, seeds and nuts. You can identify them by their green and yellow body and their black and white cheeks, if you look closely their wings are a grey blue with a slight hint of yellow and green.

In my garden for every ten Blue Tits we have on our feeders, one Great Tit turns up. Unlike what I have read about Great tits our Great tits don’t bully the other birds perhaps this is because of the amount of feeders we have in our garden so there isn’t any competition over food.

Great tit 1Great tit 2Great tit and Blue tit

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bird Advent calendar – Day 17

  1. Denise says:

    Excellent photos

    Like

Leave a Reply

