Bird Advent calendar – Day 18

When I started this Advent Calendar I had a list of birds in my head that I regularly see, it was just a case of seeing them and taking a photo of them on that particular day.

I didn’t expected to include birds such as the Grey Phalarope, The Great Grey Shrike or the Great Northern Diver that appeared on my local patch, which was a bonus.

I had a few birds that I knew I could see everyday such as the Wood Pigeon and the Crow that I left incase it was a quiet day or I was too busy to go further than my garden. I thought today was going to be one of those days until I spotted this male Bullfinch.

The hedgerow is incredibly noisy at the moment, full of Long tailed tits, Blue tits, Robins, Blackbirds and Fieldfares but then I heard a completely different call and a flash of red moving up the hedgerow.

It was a male Bullfinch.

Male Bullfinch 2Male Bullfinch 1

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

