Bird Advent calendar – Day 21

Not many birds left now

Day 21 of my countdown to Christmas is the Wood pigeon.

As the sun rose this morning just after 8am I was sat in my kitchen watching the garden wake up. In fact it had been waking up a lot longer than I’ve been up.

sunrise

The foxes starting barking before 5am waking us all up. I now sit and watch the Rooks on the power line as they caw, they put so much effort in they lift their tails up and nearly fall off.  The Black headed gulls fly overhead followed by Cormorants.

Meanwhile on the bird feeders Robins, Blue tits and a coal tit are having their breakfast, the Coal tit doing its normal squeak as it emerges from the bushes. Two collared doves sit in another bird feeder and the  Crow sits in its normal morning spot. In the distance I can hear Magpies and Jays.

On a roof of a neighboring house the bird of today sits cooing as it warms up in the morning sun.

The Wood pigeon is the UK’s largest pigeon and eats crops, shoots, seeds, nuts and berries, we have two pairs raise their young in our garden every year.

wood pigeon 2wood pigeonCollared dove sat on feeder

Later in the day you could see the back end of the weather front taking away the lunchtime rain.

 

Weather front

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

