Bird Advent calendar – Day 24

The Robin has to be the last bird on the Advent calendar.

Robin’s are found on Christmas cards to represent the postmen who delivered cards because in Victorian times the postman’s uniform jacket was red the same as a Robin’s breast.

A Robin was also meant to have landed on Jesus’s shoulder and prick its chest with the thorns, the blood giving the Robin a red breast.

In European mythology the Robin is associated with the wisdom of change, growth and renewal.

Robins are seen as friendly and bold birds, but this may be them just defending their territory. As I took these photos, my mum stood off to the side with the dogs and this particular Robin kept dive bombing straight at the dogs then flying back to the tree and twittering at them.

IMG_4762

IMG_0037IMG_0041

One of my garden Robins

IMG_0145

Wishing everyone Season greetings. Thank you for following my blog, the likes and the kind comments – Alex

CHRSITMAS CARD DEER the real one

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bird Advent calendar – Day 24

  1. Thank you Alex for this Advent calendar. I’ve really enjoyed all the pictures and looked forward to finding them in my in box everyday. The robin was a lovely end.

    Like

  2. taphian says:

    that’s so cute, I love robins, have one in our garden, too. Wonderful gallery, Merry X’mas to you

    Like

Leave a Reply

