Between Christmas and New Year

Up until Storm Frank hit today, the weather in Oxfordshire has been unseasonably warm and sunny. Walking around my local patch has been more comfortable without a coat.

Bumblebees and wasps have been regularly spotted on plants that shouldn’t be flowering this time of year.

A few Fieldfares have been hanging around our garden but out on the hedgerow, which runs either side of the road out of the village, there are noticeably less Fieldfares than in the past few years.

IMG_4865

In the fields a flock of Yellowhammers hopped ahead of us as we walked down alongside the hedgerow. In the meadow a charm of Goldfinches pecked the down from the thistles to get at the seeds, we spent ages watching them as the thistle down floated away across the field like snow. While watching the Goldfinches we must have disturbed two Roe deer resting, who leap out of the field and disappeared off in to the woods.

Goldfinch 1Goldfinch 2IMG_0204

IMG_4845

In the woods we spotted Squirrels, Long tailed tits, Tree Creepers and a male Kestrel just on the edge.

Male kestrelIMG_0157

Back out in the field, a Buzzard who at first I thought was H3, was using the pylon as a vantage point. Once I got home I looked through some old photos and realised that it was actually H3’s mate as he has more of a white breast. It has now been over 3 months since I have been able to positively identify H3 although twice now I have seen two Buzzards together in her territory I just haven’t got close enough to see her ringed leg.

IMG_4834

 

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

