New Year badgers

This year I am going to make a 30 minute documentary about my local Badgers. Hopefully tracking them throughout the whole year as well as trying to identify each Badger and get to know them better.

I have been watching them for several years now and blogging about them for nearly 3 years. I have watched, photographed and filmed them playing, eating, digging and interacting with other animals.

Each badger has different shaped ears, tail and facial markings, as well as chunks out of their ears or even damaged eyes. Sometimes it is their behaviour that makes identifying them easier.

It is very difficult to tell the difference between male and female badgers, but generally males are bigger and heavier with wider heads and longer, thinner tails.

This one looks like a female as it has a thin face and in one of the trail camera films I have of her she has a very fluffy tail. Her black strip goes on the outside of her ears.

2016 badger 1

Cookie (below)  is one of the boldest and least wary badgers. He/she is easy to identify as he/she has a piece missing from its left ear and its black strip runs inline with its ears. He/she has quite a long tail but it is fluffy.

I can’t really decide on whether Cookie is male or female but I go with male.

We think Cookie is a cub from Spring 2014.

2016 badger 2

This is Cookie from the summer

IMG_0148

The badger below has quite odd shaped ears, a thin face and a very short tail. Looking back at old photos and films from last year I think this badger was the one who had the only surviving cub in 2015

2016 badger 3

I think this is her from the summer.

IMG_0160

You can see where the mum has been suckling her cub, which they do for around 12 weeks.

IMG_0103

 

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in nature, outdoors, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Woodland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year badgers

  1. Some amazing photos. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Fiona Johns says:

    Hi Alex, thanks for another interesting read! I do hope this unusual warm weather will not harm our lovely wildlife too much. Keep up the good work! X

    Like

  3. Sounds an interesting project, I look forward to seeing the finished results 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

