Wildsounds

Back in November I entered the RSPB Wildsound competition. The idea was to record 30 seconds of sounds of nature.

I thought about lots of different sounds I could do but I hadn’t yet decided, when one evening at the beginning of November I was sat indoors when I heard a Tawny owl outside. I grabbed my camera and went out in to the front garden.

The sky was lit up by fireworks and it wasn’t just one Tawny owl, but three. One across the road, one in the farm and one in our back garden. I really liked the contrast between the sound of the fireworks and the owls calling, manmade and nature.

My entry was one of the three runners up.

Thank you to RSPB for my prize, a book on bugs, a animal tracking kit (perfect for Badger footprints) and a portable sundial kit.

Turn your volume up to listen properly.

Tanwy owls and fireworks by Alex White

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

