Trail camera Badgers and Deers

A trail camera is a great way to find out what is going on in your garden when you are not around.

I have a Little Acorn and a Bushnell trail camera, both are triggered by motion and can be set to film or to capture a photo.

The first camera I put out in the field hoping to get some Badgers in the snow, but unfortunately it didn’t snow.

Last night quite a number of mammals visited the garden including Roe deer, Muntjac deer and Badgers. A small handful of food encourages them to stop in front of the camera for a short while, but not enough to interfere with their natural feeding.

IMAG0005

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, garden, nature, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trail camera Badgers and Deers

  1. georgie Bray says:

    love these camera traps, you get such a brilliant and undisturbed view of the badgers they’re wonderful

    Like

    • appletonwild says:

      They are great, takes a bit of time to work out best places to put them. We have one badger who likes to lick the camera and will always find the trail camera no matter where I put it.

      Like

  2. David King says:

    Nice footage! Trail cameras are amazing kit. I have a ltl acorn as well and I am waiting for my first Bushnell trail camera to arrive. I sometimes leave it in my garden, but I have never had a deer or a badger in my garden!

    Like

    • appletonwild says:

      Let me know how you get on with the Bushnell. I’m lucky to get footage in my garden but I get better footage in the woods or out in the fields. Once I put the camera at my local Primary school and they found out they had badgers on the back field during the night. The little kids thought it was amazing, not sure the teachers did.

      Like

Leave a Reply

