Bird Survey January 2016

On a Saturday morning once a month I take part in our local wood bird survey. This weekend it was extremely cold and frosty but when we started to move it didn’t feel that bad.

The survey roughly takes about two hours, we stop and monitor the birds in a number of different places, both through sightings and calls. Regularly there are 5 of us that take part which is good as we each spot or hear different birds. Simon is the one I rely on for the identification as he is really good especially on bird calls.

This time it started off very slow, maybe because we were 45 minutes earlier than normal and the sun hadn’t reached the woods yet. Last time the sun was hitting the top of the ash trees and the trees at the entrance of the wood were covered with Thrushes, Siskins, Blackbirds and Goldcrests but this time it was silent.

As we walked around, and the air warmed up (slightly) we counted:

Goldcrest, Nuthatch, Jackdaw, Robin, Wren, Coal tit, Blue tit, Great tit, Long tailed tit, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Kestrel, Redwing, Stock dove, Jay, Marsh tit, Wood Pigeon, Treecreeper, Black headed gull and Collared dove. Plus a Bullfinch on the way home

 

IMG_0246GoldcrestWrenNuthatchFemale Bullfinch

The photos of the Treecreeper, Coal tit and Great Spotted Woodpecker were taken by my mum.

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bird Survey January 2016

  1. A great tally of birds for an early morning count in Jan 🙂

    Like

  2. Phil Neale says:

    Hi Alex,
    I think this is really great, I was as enthusiastic as you at your age but unfortunately life has other distractions and I lost focus, now however I have renewed enthusiasm for wildlife, birds in particular.
    Our garden feeders have been busy again this year, lots of Blue, Great, Long-tailed and odd Coal Tits. Plenty of Goldfinches, a few House Sparrows, Blackbirds, solitary Song Thrush, Collared Doves, Wrens, Duelling Robins and occasional Corn Buntings. But no Greenfinches, Chaffinch or Bull Finch,? I know they a declining but you usually see a few.
    The ground around the base of the tree is busy too, Dunnocks, Wrens, Voles, mice and a lovely fat rat the other day! And of course fat waddling Pidgeons.
    keep up the great work.
    Phil

    Like

    • appletonwild says:

      Thank you Phil, Your feeders sound as busy as mine, although I’ve never seen a vole. I think I might put the trail camera at the bottom of the feeder and see what comes out when I’m not around

      Like

Leave a Reply

