Lesser Redpolls

On the bird survey I took part in, back in December, we saw 25 Lesser Redpolls. This afternoon I came across what could be the same flock but now there are over 50 of them.

It was a cold afternoon in the field with the parts in the shade still hard and white with frost. The sky was clear and sunny making it almost pleasant to stand in the sunshine.

The Lesser Redpolls were feeding on the dried up seeds in the meadow, it seemed like they were flitting around in the sunlight avoiding the cold shade. There were little tussles over branches and food between individuals. Every time I moved closer to them they flew up in to the nearby trees returning back almost instantaneously, circling around my head before landing.

Lesser Redpolls are residents to Britain, but numbers increase in the winter with visitors from Europe. They eat seeds such as Willowherb and sorrel. The Lesser Redpoll are part of the finch family. You can tell them apart from the similar looking Linnet by their yellowish beak. They can have 4-5 eggs which are incubated for 12 days until hatching where the chicks will stay in the nest for 14-15 days. The average lifespan for Redpolls is 2 years but the max recorded was 6 years.

IMG_0386IMG_0399IMG_0383IMG_5351IMG_0390IMG_5349IMG_0378IMG_0397

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, RSPB, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesser Redpolls

  1. I get excited about one or two Repolls, I had 10 on the patch the other day and it made my January, not sure what seeing 50 would do 🙂 Great stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

