Fox skeleton in a Badger sett

Whilst out on a walk yesterday I came across a whole fox skeleton right next to a badgers hole. I am extremely interested in how the skeleton got there.

IMG_0085

I walk past this hole at least twice a week and have never noticed a dead fox there before, let alone noticed the smell of a dead fox which is quite distinctive.

IMG_0076

This is what the Badgers entrance hole looked like back in October

IMG_0281-001

I think perhaps the fox was dead down the Badger hole and could have been there for quite a while. The badgers have dug it out while excavating their sett and the skeleton or body was hidden under the spoil of mud. In the heavy rain we have had over the last week or so the spoil has been washed away to reveal the skeleton.

Does anyone have any other ideas?

IMG_0074

Big thank you to Melanie for the advice.

Melanie is a collector of bones and tweets at   @MelanieGbones

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

