Mammals on my local patch

The mammals on my local patch have been out and about in the sunshine.

After school today we went for a wander down into the woods. The whole wood was alive with birds. Buzzards flying over head,  a couple of jays screeching as they flew off, Long tailed tits hanging upside down, Nuthatches calling out in alarm and squirrels leaping from branch to branch.

At one point a Hare ran out from where I disturbed it resting, shooting off under the brambles. Two marsh tits were calling from the hedgerow and a single Rabbit was eating in the meadow.

IMG_5769There were three female Roe deers grazing in the nearby field.

IMG_5785IMG_5787

I quite like the look of these in black and white.

IMG_0048IMG_0054IMG_0045IMG_5780IMG_5775IMG_5754IMG_5742

Over night the Little Acorn trail camera filmed the Badger with the damaged eye and a Badger and Deer together.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, birds, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mammals on my local patch

  1. Julie Gomez says:

    Nice post, Alex! Enjoying your photos and videos. Looks like the badger is doing quite well for itself despite the bad eye.

    Like

Leave a Reply

