Slow week

I haven’t been taking many photos of wildlife this week because of my role in the school production of West Side Story. I was filming the production for the schools drama department using a Panasonic HC-X900M as well as live streaming it backstage. In the end the production was amazing, it was one of the best productions I have seen in a long time. It was also a great experience to get to do some filming even if it wasn’t wildlife.

It has been a bit of a shame that I haven’t been out much this week because once storm Imogen had passed the weather has been perfect, bright sunny afternoons and frosty mornings.

One upside of Storm Imogen was the local hunt was cancelled, which was due through the village on Monday.

On Tuesday we had a visitor to the garden, a Sparrowhawk. I have noticed a Sparrowhawk around the edge of the garden for a few weeks but this time it actually landed on the garden gate, right in front of the bird feeder. It is a juvenile male around 10 months old (thanks Dave Culley)

IMG_0064

As soon as I got home from school today I spent a bit of time in the garden watching the birds, normal garden birds, Great tits, Blue tits, Long tailed tits, Dunnocks and Robins. The Robin keeps disappearing in to the garage so I think it might have started nesting already. Overhead I could hear the mating call of a Red Kite calling to another one in the field behind the house. In fact all the birds seem to be a lot louder this week.

IMG_5846IMG_0190

Out in the field I spent around half an hour with a female Roe deer as she walked slowly through the thistles. Every so often she bent down to graze but she was always aware we were there, my mum standing further back with the dogs. Her ears constantly twitched and she would lift her head up to sniff the air.

IMG_0322-001IMG_0298IMG_0325

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

