Rants for change – Uncool school?

I have recently written a guest blog for ‘Rants for change’

Rants for change is a website where people can express their feelings about a topic they are passionate about, either through a blog or a two minute film clip.

I wrote about my experiences of balancing school life and a passion for wildlife and wildlife photography.

‘Now, after just one year at secondary school I realise that the older I get, the less my peers are interested in nature, or if they do, they don’t feel comfortable sharing their thoughts with anyone else.’ 

Kingfisher

Kingfisher

Luckily, outside school I get lots of encouragement from social media including Twitter. I have made some good friends whom I share points of views on environmental issues and wildlife photography. Although it seems that many of them also comment on how they hide their hobby from their school friends in fear of being picked on for being ‘different’.

Since my ‘Rant for change’  has been published I have had lots of really nice comments of support which mean a lot to me – so thank you to everybody.

You can read the full blog here

http://rantsforchange.com/2016/02/09/alex-white/

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Every child wild, nature, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rants for change – Uncool school?

  1. Julie Gomez says:

    Way to go, Alex! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review of 2016 | Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White

Leave a Reply

