Deliberation over wildlife

The sun was out today meaning the hares were out and about. I couldn’t get too close as we had the dogs with us.

Overhead Buzzards and a Red kite were climbing on the thermals. Occasionally coming together with talons out stretched. Until they (except the Red kite) were moved on by our two resident Buzzards.

IMG_6265

We had just got back to the house, I’d put my camera on the kitchen table and was taking my wellingtons off when – Bang, a Sparrowhawk flew out of nowhere, hit the bird feeder, swerved and flew over in to the orchard. All the Blue tits were screaming, the Dunnocks disappeared in to the fir tree and the Doves watched on from the telegraph pole. It happened so fast I couldn’t tell whether it had managed to grab anything. I ran down to see if the Sparrowhawk was perched somewhere with a poor bird from the feeder, but it was nowhere to be seen.

My deliberation is, did I want to see the Sparrowhawk catch something, see the speed and agility of it grabbing its prey, it has to eat or was I on the side of all the regular visitors to my garden. The 20 or so Blue tits, the tiny long tailed tits or the Collard Dove with only one foot, which I’m surprised hasn’t been taken before as it has trouble landing and taking off.

As an observer of wildlife, all I can do is watch.

IMG_6172

IMG_0097IMG_0047IMG_6248

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

