Badger, Badger, Badger

You might have guessed by now that badgers are my favourite creatures.

I use my trail camera to see what they are up to if I haven’t got the time to actually go and visit them. I use my older trail camera, instead of my new Bushnell, to film overnight because Cookie has a habit of chewing on it.

A couple of nights ago I filmed a thin badger with a limp. I’m going to keep a close eye on this particular badger however the badger didn’t show up on camera last night.

The badger in the film below is one I do not recognise, It is actually quite difficult to tell one badger from another.

In this film I was trying to work out whether the badger in the background is the same badger from the previous film taken the night before, when Cookie walked straight in front of the badger and looked at the camera.

When I put my trail camera down I always put a small handful of food out, not enough to disturb their natural eating habits but just enough to make them pause in front of the camera. I wonder whether Cookie now associates the trail camera with food.

IMAG0017

Sniffing the air

The last film just shows normal behaviour of  a badger wandering around sniffing and snuffling for food.

From June 25th to July 2nd 2016 it is National Badger Week, to celebrate the badger as an important part of our natural history and landscapes.

Last year I was involved in a short film about Badgers called ‘Talking badgers’. It has been edited for National Badger Week 2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uzMbdWlmtQ

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

