Roe deers up close

Lately I’ve been watching my local herd of Roe deer who seem to be very active at the moment.

My local deers have a home range of two fields and part of the wood. They use the fields for grazing and lay up in the wood and hedgerow.

At the moment there are seven deers altogether, four in one group and three in the other, they are sometimes seen altogether. The woods are scattered with deer paths especially around the stream. Patches of bare woodland floor can been seen in parts of the wood where the deers lay up and ruminate.

Roe Deers eat grass, bark, leaves, berries and fresh shoots. Some small trees have been partly stripped by the deers but the trees have grown with missing bark.

I wasn’t looking for anything in particular while out walking on my local patch. I saw a few Butterflies and Bees, but when I came across the herd of the seven deers I quietly found a place to sit in the field while mum walked on with the dogs. Five of the deers stepped through the brambles into the woods but two were very inquisitive and crept closer and closer to me, pausing to nibble every now and then. They got fairly close until they were startled by somebody on the nearby road.       

IMG_0065-001

IMG_0097-001IMG_0101-001

The deers didn’t go far, but joined the others in the wood. I crept around the back of this part of the wood and found a tree to lean up against. Slowly the deers moved closer again. Mum took this photo of me.

IMG_7573

Roe deer often circle back round something they are wary of and mum said from where she was sat with the dogs, four of the deers had circled round and crept up behind her.

These are some of the photos I took when the deers got very close to me.

IMG_0133IMG_0125-001IMG_0115-001IMG_0117-001IMG_0122-001IMG_0120-001

Roe deer are quite predictable, they are more active at dawn and dusk and the younger ones tend to watch as we walk past with the dogs, while the older ones will trot off into the wood or a safe distance away. We always keep our dogs on leads because of all the local wildlife.

If it is windy the deers are more wary and stay in the woods. They also spend more time in the woods if it is raining.

Once, when I was sat in the field badger watching, a Roe deer circled around, without us noticing and barked really loudly behind us, making us jump.

Over the weekend, I found this poor male polecat, dead on the side of the road on my local patch.

IMG_7560

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

