Happy update on Cookie’s sett

Last night, just after tea, my sister rang to say that she had found a Badger cub out on the footpath near the sett. My mum and I grabbed the cameras together with a couple of trail cameras and ran down the field as quickly as we could.

Amelia said that the cub had come and sniffed at her feet while she was stood waiting for us to arrive.

As we were watching the cub to see if it was ok, an adult badger came along and the cub followed it back in to the sett.

IMG_8839

While there were no badgers around we quickly set up a trail camera.

After 30 minutes of waiting a couple of cubs appeared, then another couple with an adult. We watched them from a distance, playing, chasing and chattering. It was difficult to identify which adult was with them. I took these photos, then we left them alone because we didn’t want to disturb them.

IMG_05902016 CubIMG_0578

This morning I looked through all the trail camera footage and realised that there were actually six cubs. The adult with the cubs is Arrow. This brings up so many questions.

Are these all Arrow’s cubs, if so what happened to Cookie’s? Are some of these cubs Cookie’s and Arrow is looking after hers and Cookie’s? Are all of these cubs Cookie’s and Arrow is bringing them all up?

I can’t answer any of these questions.

In this clip you can really see the size difference between two of the cubs.

This is Pirate walking past the entrance where the cubs are.

This is one of the twins investigating the trail camera.

In this clip there are two adult badgers with the cubs.

I was quite worried when I first saw this clip as it looked like the adult badger had a dead cub in its mouth. Until the adult puts the cub down, then walks away with the cub following behind. Shame it is a little out of view.

 

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy update on Cookie’s sett

  1. Sally says:

    Hi Alex.
    These are fantastic video clips and it’s so good to see so many Cubs. In the last clip, just as the Badger puts the tiny cub down I thought I could see a teat as she turns. What do you think? Do you know which adult this one is? Also how many of the Cubs are as small as the one in this clip?
    πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    • appletonwild says:

      Yes, there is a teat. Hard to tell which badger in this clip. It has the tail of Arrow, but I can’t see the mark on her head, but their fur is so wet.
      There are two tiny cubs, but one is really really tiny.

      Like

  2. Sally says:

    I couldn’t believe how tiny one of them was, I mean it was REALLY tiny wasn’t it (Tiny Tim? lol). I’m just so happy for you that all these Cubs have appeared πŸ˜ƒ.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

