Deer behaviour

One of the roe deer has started following my mum and the dogs around the field. Does anyone have any thoughts on why?

As soon as my mum stops walking and looks at the deer, it stops and starts eating. If mum walks on, the deer follows.

Is it being inquisitive or is it protecting its territory?

I know deers will sometimes circle back behind us and follow from a distance, but this one runs across the field towards mum and the dogs.

IMG_0308

IMG_9341IMG_0335

This isn’t a very good photo, but just managed to see this stoat running down the path. My sister also saw a stoat in a different field a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_0257

Now the crops are getting taller the best place to see the hares is in the tractor tracks.

IMG_0269

One of the birds which I see a lot of in the fields around my house is the Yellowhammer. this is a male as its head is bright yellow.

IMG_0277

Yellow hammer

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deer behaviour

  1. Sheila Northover says:

    Hi Alex I’m feel sure someone else must have said this already, but I think it most likely she has a fawn lying low in the grass somewhere near and she is guarding it. I wonder if your Mum has thought of walking the dogs somewhere else, and keeping them on a lead near the deer?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

