RSPB Minsmere, Day 3 – 30 Days Wild

RSPB Minsmere is a nature reserve in Suffolk. It has a large range of habitats including, open water, heathland, grassland, woods and reed beds all hosting a huge variety of mammals, birds and insects.

IMG_9519

Minsmere

Minsmere is one of the fews places in the UK where Bitterns breed. Bitterns are quite difficult to see, but it was one of the birds I was hoping to find while I was there. Luckily it didn’t take long to spot my first Bittern from the Bittern hide.

IMG_9524IMG_0112IMG_0011

One of the other birds that I was hoping to see was the Avocet. The Avocet is a wading bird that uses its upturned beak to locate invertebrates either on the surface of the water or the mud.

IMG_0026

On the reserve there are several breeding Marsh harriers.

I spent a while in the hide where Otters are sometimes spotted but unfortunately didn’t see any Otters or Water vole during my visit. There were plenty of rabbits on the reserve, both adults and young.

IMG_0001

IMG_0041-001

Around the reserve they were plenty of other birds to see, all busy feeding chicks and flying in and out of the many bird boxes, nests and trees, close to the footpaths.

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, birds, nature, Nature reserve, outdoors, RSPB, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RSPB Minsmere, Day 3 – 30 Days Wild

  1. jiainmac says:

    Wow – great post. You’re so lucky to get a flight view of a Bittern!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

