Walk in the rain, Day 7 – 30 Days Wild

I hadn’t planned a walk in the rain but just as we were leaving to go out a massive thunder storm started.IMG_0318

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_07

The lightning, thunder and hailstones continued for about 30 minutes. I couldn’t help thinking about the leverets in the fields and the chicks in the nests, as the puddles filled and the water gushed down the road.

IMG_0316

It wasn’t long before the piles of hailstones looked like snow and steam rose from the road where the tarmac had warmed over the past few days of hot weather.

IMG_0330

Hail stones

IMG_0334-001

Once the rain had slowed down we were able to go for our walk. Up in a tree I spotted what Jo had taken me to see. A kestrel and its nest.

The photos aren’t very clear as my camera was on full zoom and the rain was still falling, but we could make out an adult and two chicks. There are actually 3 chicks in the nest so one must have been out of view.

IMG_0340IMG_0354-001IMG_0339

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walk in the rain, Day 7 – 30 Days Wild

  1. I look forward to finding out how the leverets have recovered.
    It’s great to see kestrels nesting, too, as apparently their numbers are declining.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

