Look for ladybirds, day 8 – 30 Days Wild

I didn’t realise that I could find so many different types of ladybirds on my local patch. Most of these were on our allotment.

There are 46 different Ladybird species in the UK. 27 of those actually look like what most people think a ladybird looks like. Ladybirds are small to medium sized beetles (Coccinellidae). They are usually round or oval, they are brightly coloured and patterned. Ladybirds eat aphids.

The most common is the 7 spot ladybird. Ladybirds always have the same number of spots, they don’t grow more spots. They are brightly coloured as a warning to predators. The horrible yellow liquid you find on your hands sometimes after holding a ladybird is called reflex blood, it smells and contains toxins which may put off a predator.

I had real trouble trying to Id a lot of these, so I have done my best. I have numbered each photo, so if you can identify the type of Ladybird or I have made a mistake, please message me and I will update this blog when I know more.

Thank you

The harlequin ladybird arrived in Britain in 2004

IMG_9449

Number one – Harlequin ladybirds

IMG_9434

Number 2 – Two spot ladybird

IMG_9416

Number 3 – Black two spot ladybird

IMG_9411

Number 4 – slightly different 2 spot

IMG_0518

Number 5 – 7 spot with broken wing

IMG_0535

Number 6 – 7 spot ladybird

IMG_9382

Number 7 – Harlequin 

IMG_0496

Number 8 – Harlequin

Not sure why a 14 spot ladybird can have between 4 and 14 spots.

IMG_9414

Number 9 – 14 spot ladybird

IMG_9375

Number 10 – ?

IMG_9387

Number 11 – Harlequin

IMG_0525

ladybird larvae

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_08

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look for ladybirds, day 8 – 30 Days Wild

  1. MeganS says:

    Great to see a post devoted to ladybirds – I’m a big fan of all things insect-related. I’ll have a proper look at your photos & ID when I’m not getting ready for work / at work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

