Nose to nose with an animal, Day 14 – 30 Days Wild

I went to a talk hosted by Hugh Warwick last week where he spoke about his amazing experience going nose to nose with a hedgehog.

I hadn’t planned on doing the same thing with a badger, but last night I did exactly that.

I settled myself on the edge of the ditch, hidden behind a log, under a pile of brambles.

It wasn’t long before the first black and white face appeared. It was Arrow, the adult female, it looks like she has a cut on her ear. I could hear the cubs chattering, still underground.

Next, the first cub appeared, although there are 6 cubs in this nursery sett, Arrow normally has two with her. Once one cub came out, the second one followed. These are the two smallest cubs out of the six.

I watched for a while as the badgers took it in turn to climb down the steep sides of the ditch, have a drink and climb back up.

The smallest cub shuffled closer and closer to me. I was holding my breath, wondering whether, if I took a photo, the click would scare it away. Slowly it came so close I could have reached out and touched it. I was very aware that Arrow and the other cub were just behind and off to my left I could hear two more cubs play fighting in the brambles. My legs were starting to go numb and I really wanted to move but I knew that if I moved even slightly Arrow might feel threatened and charge at me. As I was lying down I knew I wouldn’t be able to get out of the way.

The cub came so close, we were nose to nose. It looked straight in to my eyes and I looked in to its. For a spilt second it seemed as if  I was one of them. The cub then turned and trotted back under the brambles.

IMG_9971IMG_0098

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Badgers, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nose to nose with an animal, Day 14 – 30 Days Wild

  1. How wonderful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an amazing experience for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. New Moons For Old says:

    An experience you will never forget!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. roziebee says:

    Wow! How amazing and lucky!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

