Orchids, Day 23 – 30 Days Wild

I had a phone call yesterday telling me that there was a patch of Pyramidal orchids on the grass verge not far from my house.

The grass verge is on a slipway of the dual carriage way, but right at the top, allowing us somewhere safe to park and walk back down the path along the side of the road.

The grass verge has not been mown this year. Wild flowers and wildlife really benefit from the council not mowing the grass verges and along this part of the road it is safe to have tall grass as it doesn’t obstruct car drivers view.

There were about 20 Pyramidal orchids in a group with a few odd ones scattered amongst the ox-eyed daisies. Pyramidal orchids are 20 to 40 cm tall, they flower between June and August and are quite easy to spot due to their colour and shape.

As I was taking the photos, cars and lorries thundered past on the main road. I was trying to capture how close the cars came, and how most people driving past probably didn’t notice these beautiful flowers were even there.

IMG_0329

Scattered around these flowers were cans, cigarette boxes and other rubbish that has been discarded. Apart from not just looking horrible, rubbish on the side of the road can have a harmful affect on wildlife and habitats.

IMG_0342

As I was kneeling down I noticed that behind the Pyramidal orchids was a single Bee orchid. Standing out from all the green.

The Bee orchid can grow from 25cm to 45cm tall and flowers between May and June. It can sometimes be mistaken as a bee crawling into the flower because of the way it looks, this is its way of making sure it is pollinated. Unfortunately, the right species of bee doesn’t live in the UK, so the Bee orchid has to self-pollinate.

IMG_0362IMG_0377

IMG_0358

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Blogging, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildflowers, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Orchids, Day 23 – 30 Days Wild

  1. More great photos, Alex, and so happy that you have highlighted the importance of properly-managed verges as wildlife corridors and habitats.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope someone will protect these orchids?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful pictures and a fantastic blog. You’ve just gained a new follower.

    Its great to see that your councils are allowing some of the roadside verges to grow during this important time of year. There was a lovely stretch of road local to me that was left untouched for the last 6 weeks or so….until the tidy towns comittee came along and cleared the whole lot away in less than an hour. I was heart broken. In no time at all it went from a lively and colourful (albeit small) strip of wilderness, to something resembling a putting green.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m just branching into learning about native British orchids to expand my knowledge, and I love your blog…so I’m hitting the ‘Follow’ button. Feel free to stop by my blog throughout the year. I’m planning on adding new posts and information about native species as I learn more. Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

