Butterflies, Day 28 – 30 days Wild

For day 28 of 30 Days Wild I went on the lookout for butterflies.

Over the past week, when the sun has come out, my nearby meadow is teeming with butterflies. Just down one side I counted at least 15, mainly Ringlets and Meadow Browns, but as more flowers appear so do more butterflies.

In this area last year I saw lots of Silver-washed Fritillary and Comma’s, and further back in the wood were White Admiral’s.

I haven’t yet seen a Speckled Wood butterfly or a Gatekeeper but I’m sure I will over the next few weeks.

Meadow Brown 2

Meadow Brown

Small tortoiseshell

Small tortoiseshell

Marbled White

Marbled White

Ringlet

Ringlet

Large Skipper

Large Skipper

IMG_0403

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Butterfly, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butterflies, Day 28 – 30 days Wild

  1. Great photos, Alex 🙂 Very rainy here, so butterflies are in hiding 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

