Badger weekend

I spent Friday evening down at the badgers sett. Tiny Tim was the only badger around.

This one still spends most of its time near the sett. It was the smallest of the 6 cubs born this year.

The nursery sett is quite a distance from the main sett and I’m wondering whether some of the cubs will moved in to the main sett or will stay living here.

The main sett contain around 70 entrance holes. It seems to be split in to two parts. Each year the badgers change which part of the sett is active. I think this might be to allow the parasites and germs to die off over the year that part is empty.

I have noticed recently that the badgers are starting to tidy up last years part of the sett ready to move back in, in the autumn.

IMG_0300

Tiny Tim (although I think she is a girl) is becoming more and more used to me watching her. This time she came right up next to the log I was leaning on, stood up, balanced her front paws on the log and sniffed at my arm.

IMG_0875IMG_0880-001

On Saturday I joined the Badger Army in Cheltenham to peacefully protest against the badger cull.

A while ago I wrote a blog on why I go on these badger marches

Why I go on Badger marches

Simon Gardner very kindly gave me permission to use this great photo he took of The Badger Army in Cheltenham. Everybody is very passionate about protecting these beautiful animals.

Simon group photo

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, Blogging, mammals, nature, Oxfordshire, photography, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Badger weekend

  1. Lawrence Tierney says:

    Wonderful stuff…all power to you.

    Like

  2. New Moons For Old says:

    You are certainly reaping the rewards of your dedication to your badgers! I’m prompted to wonder whether you have read any of the ‘badger’ books by the late Monica Edwards? Although her badger-watching experiences took place in the 1950s, 60s and 70s, I think you would find a lot to enjoy in them. You can usually track down second hand copies, I think, or your local library might be able to get them for you to borrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • appletonwild says:

      No, I haven’t read any by Monica Edwards. Although just found a secondhand copy on Amazon. I have Patrick Barkham’s Badgerlands and books by George Pearce, Michael Clark and Peter hardy. I love the DVD by Gareth Morgan

      Like

  3. Pingback: Review of 2016 | Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White

Leave a Reply

