Catch up with the badger family

I have been watching these cubs since they first emerged. Most of the time just two of them stay around the sett while the other 3 are more adventurous and explore further away. Occasionally I’ve become quite worried as I haven’t managed to see all 5 for a couple of weeks at a time, but luckily this week all 5 cubs were around the sett when I arrived.

I’ve spent quite a bit of time watching them play, forage and fight with each other. Sometimes the fighting becomes what seems to me to be very aggressive. So this week it was nice to watch them mutually groom each other.

Badgers spend a lot of time grooming and musking, especially when they first emerge in the evening. Grooming is an important part of coping with fleas and lice as well as bonding. Musking is where badgers scent mark each other so that all the members of the group smell the same and badgers from other territories can be recognised as being different.

IMG_0225IMG_0061IMG_0044IMG_1317

IMG_0221

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

