Struggles and inspirations in the wildlife world.

Sometimes it can be quite disheartening to constantly read about the state of wildlife around the world.

Each time I read through social media it is easy to feel helpless, so many animals are being persecuted, or attacked, killed or displaced due to construction work. Humans seem to have such a negative effect on other animals, whether deliberate or otherwise.

Just scrolling through a few days of tweets on Twitter, it can highlight the badger cull, the decline in bees and butterflies, the mass killing of whales or the persecution of raptors, to name just a few.

It would be natural to become very upset, but there are many people out there who care. So many amazing people who want to make a difference, who are devoted enough to turn up to events and protests to show their allegiance, to go out into the fields to protect animals, volunteer and rescue wildlife, and even end up facing physical violence.

This morning I attended Hen Harrier Day South 2016 to show my support. Hen Harriers are on the edge of extinction in England and are still being persecuted.

It was inspirational to listen to Iolo Williams, Nick Bruce-White and Mark Thomas speak so passionately about their experiences and thoughts. I stood amongst hundreds of other people listening, eyes closed, to spoken words of images of Hen Harriers dancing in the sky. I also heard accounts of people having to witness horrific acts of animal cruelty so they can film it for evidence.

IMG_1866

Walking up to the heath

IMG_1870

Listening to some great speakers

IMG_1901

I have always had great admiration for people fight for what they believe in, people who give up their time for others, or for animals. When we left RSPB Arne we called in to Poole harbour to support the RNLI open day. Another amazing group of people who give up their time to ‘save lives at sea’.

IMG_1924

RNLI – rescue demonstration

A few weeks ago I had the great pleasure to meet up with Mark Muschamp, a volunteer with Sea Shepherd, which reminded me of a poster I made when I was 7 years old.

Sea Shepherd poster

It would be all too simple to think there is nothing I can do, but I am proud to be part of a community of young people who care and are keen to do something about it.

This is just a small shout out to a few of those of my generation that care.

Georgia, Findlay, Dara, Amelia, Melanie, Mya-Rose, Mya, Billy, Sorrel, Liz, Dawood, Zach, Reuben, Elliot, Harry, Nath, Jackson, Frank, Ayla, Luke, Sam, William, Sam, Jacob, Harley, Noah, Toby, Paddy, Miles, Ellis, Josie, Evie, Ben, Thomas, Abby, James.

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in nature, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife Crime and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Struggles and inspirations in the wildlife world.

  1. We humans do need to care for the planet better 😔

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Alex! Hen Harrier Day was great, especially having so much support

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Hen Harrier Day 2016 – round up | Raptor Persecution UK

Leave a Reply

