Back on my local patch

I’ve been away from my local patch on and off for the past three weeks so I haven’t been able to spend much time walking around it.

It is definitely good to be back.

Local patches are important, if you spend enough time in them you get to know the patterns of the animals and plants, and how time is marked by those patterns. It is the little things that I have become familiar with. Writing a blog is really useful, it allows me to go back and look at what was happening the same time last year.

Things have changed in the past couple of weeks, Autumn is slowly starting to show itself. Most of the crops have now been harvested which has made the hares more visible. The maize will still stand for a few more weeks, the badgers, hares and deers find it useful to hide in.

The young deer have grown up fast and are now often seen without their mum. Although today one was still close to mum while the other was hiding in the maize.

IMG_2689

IMG_2629

The Starlings have started to gather on the pylons

IMG_2680

The blackberries have ripened. I’m going to be honest, I don’t normally feed my local badgers but I did throw Tiny Tim this blackberry to see if he would eat it. Last year I watched some of the adults carefully picking blackberries off the bush with their teeth.

Fungi has started to appear all over the woods.

The tawny owls have begun calling to each other outside my window in the evenings and the mysterious call of a fledgling bird of prey that I could hear over the last few weeks I’m now pretty sure it is a Sparrowhawk.

The juvenile Buzzards are flying around the field and edge of the wood, constantly calling to each other and I’m pleased to see that H3, my local ringed female Buzzard that I have been following since 2013 is now out and about, so I presume she has been on nest duty.

H3

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back on my local patch

  1. David Thornton says:

    Enjoyed reading your post. So did Nanny. Grampy Dave

    Liked by 1 person

  2. New Moons For Old says:

    This is really lovely, Alex – it expresses just how great one’s local patch can be, if one takes time to enjoy and understand its wonders.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

