Sunny Autumn afternoon

The past few days have had warm sunny autumnal afternoons. After school I have been taking my camera out to see what creatures are taking advantage of this weather.

The Roe deers are spending time sitting in the sun along the hedge, although they all got up when a helicopter came overhead. A Kestrel made the most of the newly harvested field to search for small mammals. Flocks of Pigeons and Crows hop around on the ground, picking at maize that the harvesting had left behind, as we approach they struggle to fly off after eating so much.

img_0202

In amongst  all the other insects I spotted an Ivy bee on a large patch of Ivy. The Ivy Bee,  Colletes hederae, is Britain’s only true autumn bee. The males emerge around the end of August and the females in the middle of September. October is the best time to see them and as their name suggests the place to look is on Ivy blossom.

The Bees, Wasps and Ants Recording Society are collecting data on Ivy bees so I have submitted my sighting at www.bwars.com

img_3630

Red Admirals (Vanessa atalanta) are normally found in groups feeding on nectar in the autumn. I counted 11 Red Admirals. It was interesting to watch the hornets bothering the butterflies. I’m not sure whether a hornet would eat a  Red Admiral, but they quickly got out of the way.

img_3618img_3576

img_0252-001

One insect the Hornet did manage to catch and eat was a wasp. I captured this on film.

The Hornet, Vespa crabro, is the biggest of the social wasps. They are brown and yellow instead of the black and yellow of a common wasp. These are European hornets and not the Asian giant hornets that have been in the newspaper recently. European hornets are gentle (except to the wasp in the film) and will only sting if threatened. They mainly live in woodlands, building a large paper nest in hollow trees.

img_3584img_0276-001

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Butterfly, insects, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunny Autumn afternoon

  1. Pingback: Review of 2016 | Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White

Leave a Reply

