Halloween and first week of November

The clocks have now gone back meaning less time after school for getting out and finding wildlife.

After Halloween we put the pumpkins in the garden full of bird food and watched them being visited by the Wood mice, Coal tits, a Robin, Great tits, Pigeons and a Crow. I wished I’d got a photo of the crow sat on top of the pumpkin as it would have made a great Halloween photo.

img_4392

img_4395

The Redwings and Fieldfares are arriving on my local patch in greater numbers and I can’t wait for when we drive down the road out of the village surrounded by flocks of them flying alongside the car.

img_4317img_4413

I’ve been trying to get out with my camera after school if it has been a sunny afternoon as the light as been amazing just before the sun sets.

img_0016-001img_4334

The five Roe deer have been in their normal spots and look brilliant as the sun light shines off the their red summer coat before it turns much greyer for the winter.

Two Red Kites have started roosting in one of the tall trees right on the edge of the copse and hunting early morning opposite my house.

img_0021-001

While out walking we came across a white pheasant, a leucistic bird. I did a bit of research on white pheasants and found out that that there are lots of different rules about white pheasants depending on the different shooting syndicates.

Some are a fine if you hit the white pheasant or a fine if you shoot at the white pheasant but miss. Some shoots say a bottle of port if you hit the white pheasant. Some won’t allow you to shoot the white pheasant until after Christmas.

I felt so sorry for this poor bird trying its hardest to hide under a hedge, although from a distance it did look like a plastic bag or milk carton.

The League of Cruel Sports have an article on game bird shooting

http://www.league.org.uk/our-campaigns/shooting

img_4407img_4401

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, Blogging, garden, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

