Garden wildlife

I’ve had the week off school due to a Streptococcus infection which meant I haven’t been able to go much further than the doctors or my garden.

It has actually been great having time to do nothing other than watch #wildlifefrommywindow

The orchard, over my back garden fence has been the busiest place, full of birds such as Fieldfares, Redwings and Blackbirds taking advantage of all the fallen fruit. A male and female Muntjac were also helping themselves, taking whole apples at a time.

Orchard Muntjacimg_4944img_4922

The normal garden birds have been using the garden feeders. As I watched the Bluetits, Coal tits and Great tits feeding a Sparrowhawk swooped down out of nowhere, twisted under the garden arch, passed the feeder in a second and banked over the garden wall in to the orchard. All that was left was a single feather floating to the ground.

img_0030

I noticed that each lunchtime a Raven passes over the garden flying North towards the river, making a cr- r- ruck  sound as it passes over the garden. Occasionally it stops for a while on the nearby pylon.

The badgers have been busy over night so I put out my trail camera but they managed to avoid it.

The second night I put the trail cam next to one of the hedgehog highways in our garden and filmed a Wood mouse.

By yesterday I was feel well enough to go out for a short walk in to the woods. For the first time since the harvesting took place I saw a hare. It lolloped through the trees, under the brambles and out in to the field.

With the dark afternoon and the fog descending the only good photos I took were ones of fungi.

img_0047img_0039-001img_0038

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Fungi, garden, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden wildlife

  1. Alex, you’ve certainly made good use of your time whilst unwell! There are some really great observations here, and your photos are stunning – especially of the fungi.

    I hope you feel completely better soon, and wish you and your family a Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you’re feeling better Alex! Great post 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you are feeling better! Thanks for the interesting post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

