Catching up with my garden wildlife

It’s snowing. I’m sat in a classroom watching the falling snow out of the window. I can’t wait to get home.

Images pour in to my head. A badger plodding through a blanket of fresh white snow in the wood. A fox sat staring at me, its red coat contrasting against the glistening snowfall, snowflakes trapped on its whiskers. Photos I dream of taking.

Unfortunately by the time I got home from school the snow had stopped falling and had all disappeared, but I still decided to get my camera out, albeit from the kitchen window.

Since the weather has been a lot colder recently the garden has been full of birds, making the most of the feeders. This includes 3 Pied wagtails which fly up in to the air, twisting together before landing in different parts of the garden to carry on feeding.

The Long tailed tits normally appear for about half an hour most days just before dusk, but over the last couple of weeks they have visited our garden at least four times a day filling up from the peanut butter coconut shells.

At first one bird will appear, calling back to the others which trill and burr, next another two will arrive, quickly followed by another 4 or 5, all chattering, hopping and hanging upside down from the feeders or nearby branches. They continue this noisy party until a larger bird such as a Jackdaw or Pigeon sends them scattering away.

img_5277

Now the harvest has been gathered, the winter has left the fields full of mud and little food a rat has turned up in the garden. It looks like it has been in the wars.

img_5273img_5274img_0066img_5247

One of my trail cameras filmed this fox. During part of the film it gets spooked by something just out of frame, maybe a badger?

I haven’t seen much of the badgers recently and they have been avoiding the trail cameras.

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, Blogging, garden, nature, Oxfordshire, photography, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching up with my garden wildlife

  1. Aren’t Long-tailed tits just gorgeous?! They’re just the cutest little things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

