My local patch Mid March

Out walking over the weekend I came across a herd of Fallow deer, I only catch sight of them once or twice a year but it is always a special sight when I do.

There are two Fallow deers that seem to stay fairly local to my house, staying with the Roe deer rather than their own kind. I also came across them over the weekend.

It seems that now the warmer weather and a bit of sunshine has arrived a lot more creatures are out and about. I’ve seen a number of different bees and butterflies, including Brimstones and a Small Tortoiseshell making that most of the Blackthorn blossom.

IMG_6171IMG_6169

IMG_6174

I have just started writing a monthly column called ‘If you go down to the woods today’ for my village website about the different wildlife that might be found in my local woods each month.

If you go down to the woods today…March 2017

If you go down to the woods today you will find signs of Spring everywhere. Buds are appearing on the trees and the ground is turning green with Bluebell shoots, Lords and ladies and Dog’s Mercury.

Listen carefully and you will hear the Great Spotted woodpecker as it drums out its territory.

While the trees are still without leaves, tiny birds such as the Goldcrest and Long tailed tits are still easier to spot, hopping around on the ends of branches.

Deer footprints mixed in with wellington prints can be seen dotting the muddy paths.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Blogging, insects, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My local patch Mid March

  1. I do think you have this right – there is no substitute for knowing your local patch. I am sure the column for the village website will be very well received. You deserve it.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. simonjkyte says:

    the deer herd is lovely

    Like

  3. Nitin Khanna says:

    Excellent Job. Loved all pictures specially one with Rabbit. I can understand how much efforts are required to capture photographs when it comes to wildlife. I started photography when i was in college then i decided to inspire others also to have some passion for photography. I started writing tips for beginners at https://www.behance.net/nitinkhannaor Just go through and let me know if you liked it

    Like

Leave a Reply

