Spring mammals

I’ve spent a lot of time each evening with the Roe deer over the past week. As the sun sets it is such an amazing sight to watch as each ray casts a golden light through what will become a flower meadow in the summer.

Hundreds of wisps of spiders webs catch the sunlight as it streams down.

When I photograph Roe deers I let them come to me rather than me following them.

To get in to position I hurry across to a certain point before getting on my hands and knees to insure my outline isn’t obvious. If the deers spot me, it depends on how the are feeling they will ether run away or stay, but recently they have been staying around me.

There are two males, one with velvet on his antlers and one which has rubbed the velvet off. There are around seven females. Sometimes they are in a big group, other times in groups of two’s or three’s.  The females are less wary of me, and the male in the photo below is the most wary.

IMG_0058

IMG_6570

IMG_6475

Roe deer silhouetteIMG_6480-001

IMG_6514

Muntjac

The Hares are definitely more active now. Most evenings there are roughly 8 Hares running around the field. It is interesting to watch how they will charge at full speed all the way across a field towards another hare, then stop about 2 metres away, stare at each other before starting to chase round and around.

IMG_6486

When I went to photograph them the other day the boxing and chasing was over.

IMG_6537

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, Blogging, mammals, nature, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, Uk nature, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

