Neighbourhood mammals

Back to school this week so I’ve not been able to get out much with my camera.

I heard a rustling amongst the dead leaves, expecting it to be a blackbird searching for food, I was surprised to see a little wood mouse staring back at me.

IMG_6891

The rat has been back after bird food, the scar has healed up on his nose but I can tell it is the same rat as he has a piece missing from his right ear.

IMG_6877

Despite the cold and dry weather there are still a few worms to be found.

One of the local foxes has been coming up to the garden gate to drink. Both nearby ditches have dried up so a good water source is important.

Last Saturday I went down to Bristol to join in with the March for Science. There were some fantastic speakers with some important messages. Marches took place around the world, highlighting to the government and public the vital role science plays in everyday life. Anna Starkey (one of the speakers) said ‘try living a day without anything that involves science’.

It was great to meet up with some Twitter friends.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in Blogging, garden, Hedgehogs, mammals, nature, Oxfordshire, Rat, science, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Neighbourhood mammals

  1. ramblingratz says:

    Lovely selection of photos and videos. School often feels as though it gets in the way, but it is necessary for budding scientists 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue says:

    Enjoyed watching the video of the hedgehog eating a worm. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. elsie says:

    wow! its fun watching the videos especially the one for wood mouse

    Like

Leave a Reply

