Day 9 of 30 Days Wild – Litter picking

I’ve not been able to get out much over the past two days, but I managed to go for a short walk with the dogs and picked up some litter.

A while ago I wrote about the danger to wildlife that balloons cause when they are released in to the air, not only littering but killing wildlife that eats them or gets tangled up in the string. The RSPCA have a brilliant PDF with alternative suggestions.

P1020007

I found all these pieces of litter on the road side. They have probably been thrown out of passing cars which is just lazy.

Cans and bottles can also be not only harmful to wildlife, but to cats and dogs.

Google videos and look at a few to see what they do!

Chewing gum is another issue, wildlife can eat it or smaller birds and animals can get stuck in it. Chewing gum contains xylitol which is poisonous to dogs.

Please take your rubbish home.

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Blogging, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Rural life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9 of 30 Days Wild – Litter picking

Leave a Reply

