On the river – Day 18 of 30 Days Wild

Every couple of months over the summer my parents do safety cover for wild swimming events. This means a day on the water with my camera.

Launching the boat just after 5.30am, there is no one around, the water is calm and the birds are in full dawn chorus.

Even as the boat was entering the water a Kingfisher flew straight towards us, over our heads and in to the tree just upstream.

We have a 45 minutes journey downstream from the slipway to the start of the 4km Lock to Lock race.

A Cuckoo calling, Reed warblers singing and Buzzards already soaring overhead accompanied us as we travelled through two locks to meet up with the medical team for the pre-race briefing.

As everyone else is getting sorted I got the chance to watch the hundreds of dragonflies and damselflies which danced in and out of the reeds. A couple of them hitched a ride with us.

At 31 degrees I wished I had been swimming rather than sat in the boat, but cooling off by dangling my feet in the water was enough.

IMG_0306

IMG_0307

P1020291P1020265IMG_0299

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, birds, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, River, Uncategorized, wild swimming, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On the river – Day 18 of 30 Days Wild

  1. Alex, I love the peaceful tranquility of the bridge photo and its perfect reflection. Equally I love the swan photo too with the water splashes. What a wonderful day out!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. naomim says:

    Beautiful pictures! On the water was definitely the place to be on such a hot day

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

