Day 20 – Trail cameras

Trail cameras are a fantastic way to capture what goes on around my local patch and I quite often get asked which trail camera is best.

It is really up to personal preference, but for me if I decide last minute to put out a trail camera then the easiest one is the Little Acorn, especially if filming at night.

The Bushnell’s take a bit more adjustment and more batteries but produce better quality pictures particularly during the day.

One thing I have found is that cheap batteries do not work in the Bushnell trail camera.

Lithium batteries are more expensive but last so much longer.

Here is a short selection of footage taken this month so far.

As it has been so hot and dry we left out a bowl of water but everything ignored it.

The fox cubs have really grown over the past month and it was nice to see the foxes and badgers together.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Blogging, fox, mammals, nature, Oxfordshire, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 20 – Trail cameras

  1. ramblingratz says:

    They are a great way to see what goes on when our backs are turned 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zinzi says:

    Awww! I’m so envious of anyone with badgers and foxes! My garden is too in the town, but not enough so to have city foxes (I live in Cornwall).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Alex,
    It’s Isaac from Isaac’s Birds of Oxford blog. I was thinking of getting a trail camera and I just wondered what model you use and if you recommend them.
    Thanks,
    Isaac

    Like

    • Hi. I love my Little Acorn (£113), really easy to use, decent picture quality and uses less batteries. It is not great during the day, much better quality film at night. I’ve got a couple of cheaper bushnells but they take 12 batteries and the battery life isn’t very long. I also invested in a top of the range Bushnell nature view HD at £230. The picture is fantastic but I find it doesn’t always film as it stops working when batteries get low. The Nature View does come with different lens for close ups.
      So I suppose it depend on how much you’re going to use it to how much you want to spend.
      They are fantastic and I’ve got some really good clips over the past few years.
      Downside with the Little Acorn is that it shines red when filming and the badgers and foxes notice it, while the Bushnell doesn’t.
      I wrote this blog a while ago. https://appletonwildlifediary.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/acorn-vs-bushnell-trail-camera/
      let me know how you get on
      Alex

      Like

  4. Did you use tap water in the bowl? I wondered if using rainwater from a butt might work better?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

