Day 25 – The Great British Bee Count

Friends of the Earth are running The Great British Bee Count from 19th May to 30th June this year as a way to record and learn more about the different species.

https://www.foe.co.uk/bee-count

There is an easy app to download to help you understand more about bees and learn to identify them.

There are around 270 types of bee in the UK, but since 1900 the UK has lost about 13 species of bee and more species are in trouble.

Loss of habitat and pesticides, climate change and disease have contributed to their decline.

Bees are fantastic pollinators, along with moths, butterflies, wasps and beetles, and a huge amount of the food we eat is pollinated by bees.

Here are a few photos of the bees I saw on my Bee Count 2017

Plus a hornet with a deformed wing.

P1020653

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_25

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, garden, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

