Pond and other stuff

Over the summer holidays my family built a pond in the corner of the front garden. After replacing a wall with a hazel hedge together with a few hawthorn and honeysuckle last year, we hoped that this would encourage more wildlife to the garden.

I know we already have the occasional badger, fox, roe and muntjac deer visit, as well as hedgehogs, many types of birds and small mammals.

I really wanted to encourage dragonflies, butterflies and some amphibians. The under water species will give me a chance to use my mums underwater camera.

Since putting in the pond there have been a few visitors and hopefully my trail camera will show which creatures visit during the night.

P1060494

P1060581

Snail eggs

IMG_2404DSCF1732DSCF1716

Young wood pigeonGrey wagtail

H3 has been back around the wood a lot recently after disappearing over the Spring. In the next few weeks she will move up on to the main road out of the village when the Fieldfares and Redwings arrive.

In the photo below H3 is sat with another Buzzard that I have seen her with frequently, this buzzard calls constantly, both while perched and while flying. I was wondering whether it would be one of this years young.

H3 and mate

H3 at the bottom (green ring)

This is H3’s mate. They have been together at least a couple of years. I have photos of them together from 2015.

Common buzzard

H3’s mate

Found this beetle walking across our garden. I think it’s a Nicrophorus vespillo.

BeetleJust

Just after walking in the door from school, I noticed a bird flying over garden which wasn’t the normal crow or pigeon shape, so I grabbed my  camera, it was a peregrine!

Peregrine over the garden

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, birds, garden, insects, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Ponds, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pond and other stuff

  1. coralseas says:

    Glad you are enjoying the pond Alex. I love all the visitors we get at ours, my favourite being the grass snake who comes for a swim on really hot days!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant pond, Alex. I envy you, as we have just moved home and have yet to dig a new pond.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

