Young wildlife ambassadors panel

I spent last weekend up in Preston at this years Badger Trust conference.

It was a great chance to meet up with people from other Badger Groups from around the country and listen to some interesting speakers.

Over two days we heard from Professor Christianne Glossop, the chief veterinary officer for Wales, Dr Steven P. McCulloch, Mark Johns from Born Free, Tom Langton, Das & Boom, Jorge Gutierrez, along with Crispin and Roseanna Agnew, each speaking about Badgers, the badger cull, bTB, badger protection, vaccinations, threats to badgers from development, recognising active badger setts and the law surrounding badgers.

Most of it was really useful information, but I must admit some of it was a bit in depth for me.

One of the badger groups spoke about how they monitored their badger setts along the River Clyde. I really enjoyed finding out how another small group runs, how they look for setts and the issues their badgers have to deal with.

If anyone wants to find out more about badgers in their local area the best way is to get involved with your local group. You can report badger activity, badger setts, learn about badgers and even go badger watching.

https://www.oxonbadgergroup.org.uk/

Pauline Kidner up dated us on what was happening at Secret World Wildlife Rescue, somewhere I try to get to each year as it’s a really special place that does fantastic work.

https://www.secretworld.org/

The Hunt Investigation Team did a talk on the investigation of the Moscar Estate which I found very uncomfortable to watch, but I was amazed at the bravery and tenacity of the investigators.

Ashley Cooper talked about and showed some images from his book “Images from a warming planet’ http://www.imagesfromawarmingplanet.net/ . The images were very powerful, full of the awful way we treat this planet but mixed with images showing hope for the future. I was very surprised and grateful to receive a sign copy of this book from Ashley.

On Sunday it was my turn to take to the stage with Georgia Locock, James Miller and Jasmine Somerville, on the Young Wildlife ambassadors panel.

We had each been given a few questions prior to the conference and given the choice of how we wanted to present ourselves. I chose to do a short film, James, Georgia and Jasmine did power points.

Dominic Dyer’s introduction is followed by a short clip of each of us.

 

The questions and answers are on my YouTube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buDoIfYiWTw&t=6s

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, mammals, nature, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife Crime, Wildlife Rescue and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

