Brown Hare (Lepus europaeus)

Hares (Brown Hare – Lepus europaeus) are one of my favourite animals, I love the gangly awkwardness about them.

Around where I live we have good years and bad years for hares. I’m not sure why, it could just be that they only go in certain fields when there are certain crops and therefore I see them more often in particular years.

I live in an area where hare coursing is active and you can read more about hare coursing HERE on the League against Cruel Sports website.

  • A male hare is called a Jack and a female a Jill
  • They have long black-tipped ears, powerful hind legs and a black tip to their tail
  • Hares grow to about 50 – 60 cms
  • Hares have a life span of 3 to 4 years
  • They have a top speed of 56 kilometers per hour making them the UK’s fastest land mammal.
  • They don’t live in burrows like rabbits but lie in a small dip in the ground called a form.
  • Hares can have 3 to 4 litters a year with 2 to 4 young in each
  • The young are called leverets and are born with fur and their eyes open.
  • Hares feature a lot in mythology and the ‘Easter bunny’ was most likely a hare after Eostre, the Anglo-Saxon goddess of spring, whose companion was a hare
  • The iconic image of boxing hares is a female hare telling a male hare she isn’t interested or ready to mate.

Hare 1Hare 2Edited hare

In Get Your Boots On Chapter 5 is started with a photo of a hare that I took for a competition back in 2016.

The book is available through good bookshops, online or direct from the publisher by clicking HERE

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brown Hare (Lepus europaeus)

  1. Platypus Man says:

    Hares also feature regularly in English folksongs; just scrolling quickly through my collection I’ve found “The Creggan white hare,” “The bonny black hare,” “Hares on the mountain,” “The hare’s lament,” “Hares in the old plantation,” and “The white hare of Howden.” Most deal with the “sport” of hunting hares, and show grudging respect for an animal so swift and clever that it often escaped its pursuers. Well done, you hares!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.