Peregrines and badgers

One bird I love seeing on my local patch is the Peregrine falcon. It’s not often I get a glimpse of any, but last week there was one being bothered by a Buzzard.

Pigeons make up the main part of a peregrine falcon’s diet, something there is plenty of on my local patch. Although I’m hoping the pair of wood pigeons nesting in the tree outside my window stay safe.

Today it’s finally been raining a decent amount. Not great for taking photos which I was hoping to do as I’ve spotted three hares that are spending time close to me, but great for the wildlife.

When it’s been dry for a while we get a couple of badgers visiting to take a drink. This one always seems to chatter to itself.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, Badgers, Birdsy, Local patch, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peregrines and badgers

  1. Rosie Lee says:

    Glad to hear of your Peregrines. I’ve been watching a female spend winter on local steeple, so as to be sure to keep her same nest for this year. On March 21st male reappeared. She’s now sitting. Clip, not my own of last year, by woman who lives opposite. Impossible to see chicks from the ground till they’re big. https://youtu.be/t7wgVqWxKuQ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.