Snowdon – Yr Wyddfa

Not so much wildlife but landscape.

Last week 3 generations of our family climbed Snowdon or Yr Wyddfa in Welsh.

We had been planning it a while and had booked an Air B and B in Snowdonia National Park.

Snowdon is the highest mountain in Wales and England being 1,085 metre (3,560 feet) at the peak.

We decided that as it was the first time we have climbed Snowdon we would go up the Llanberis Path which is the easiest, but longest of the six main paths

Distance: 9 miles (there and back)
Total Climb: 975m (3,199 ft)
Time: Approx 6 hours (there and back)

We started in one of the car parks in Llanberis village

As we started walking we couldn’t see the summit due to the low cloud.

After stopping for food at The Halfway House around 542m we carried on walking.

Another rest and time for some photos at Clogwyn station around 732m

The strangest thing was queuing to have our photo taken at the summit.

And as you can see the weather changed a lot the higher we climbed

Beautiful views coming back down as we came out of the clouds.

I would certainly like to climb Snowdon again, maybe using a different path next time.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Adventure, Snowdon, Uncategorized, Wales and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.